Monday, December 14, 2015

Who Does the Internet Think I Am?

Well for starters, they probably think that I am an indecisive freak who doesn't know how to speak the English language. I say this because I am constantly finding something I love, such as my most recent, new bedding, and I'll search it for days, put it in a shopping cart, where it's usually deleted to refrain from buyer's remorse, and then I move onto something new a few weeks later. As for the english language situation goes, I have a really weird inner conscious that won't allow me to continue reading, or a texting conversation if I come across a word I don't know the definition to. So my search engine is full of a bunch of random words followed by the word "definition".

The next thing the internet would guess about me, is that I am obsessed with snowboarding because I am constantly checking liftopia for the cheapest lift passes available. It's not that I am obsessed with snowboarding, but more that I am a cheap skate and hate paying to ride my board down a mountain!

My Facebook on the other hand, well it probably thinks that I am a kid obsessed, photography freak, that also has major relationship problems. Which makes me sound like a weirdo, I kind of am. I love little kids and anytime one of my friends posts a picture of their kids, I am always sure to like it! So Facebook also probably thinks that I'm a mom and I always see mom ads down the side of my navigation bar. Of course I'm always looking for better ways to become a photographer, so I follow a plethora of photography pages that offer tips and tricks on every type of photography. Lastly, I love the idea of love. I love the idea of being so happy with someone that you would literally do anything for them, and the idea itself consumes me. I have a very sensitive side to broken hearts because I'd like to think I know how they're feeling, based on my readings, not my own relationships, I don't have time for that!

Basically the internet thinks I'm a freak. I'm okay with it! I'm okay with all the things I'm obsessed with and constantly searching for, I'm okay with my friends thinking that I am a pedophile because I like and comment on all their children's pictures, and I enjoy the cheap tickets I find when searching for a good time! The internet doesn't need to know the real me, it's not a real person, it doesn't deserve to know the grace of my presence. :)

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Facebook Campaign

I chose to start my own photography page for my campaign. It was much more successful than I had expected!

I always like ending on a good note, so I'll start with the bad news first.

What didn't work

- Posting a status on the page without any further attention. If I didn't share it on my personal page, tag someone in it, or add a photo, I was lucky to even get a single like! The only reason it didn't work, I'm assuming is because I don't have very many likes on my page!

- Not tagging anyone in my photo. Even when I shared it on my personal page, the photo didn't get half as much attention as other photos when I had tagged someone in the post or the photo. It never worked as well as the ones I did tag because not as many people saw the post.

What did work

- Obviously the opposite of what didn't work. Tagging people! Adding other people's names to my posts and pictures allowed it to appear on their timeline for all of their friends to view. 

- Inviting all of my friends to like my page actually made them like my page! I mean I invited over 100 and received about 20 likes but, still made a difference!

- The more people I took pictures of, the more people I could tag! That means more timelines it would show up on. The crazy thing is that the Dixie State Dance Team's Pictures I didn't tag anyone in because I wasn't friends with any of them. Yet this post was seen by the most amount of people. The only reason I can think of is that when people started to like the photo (because who wouldn't like a picture of a bunch of beautiful women) it started to pop up on a lot of people's timelines and continued to be viewed by more and more people.

Campaign Plan

After analyzing my plan, I decided I didn't know much about how to be successful on social media. My plan basically stated that I needed to post a few times a week, when in reality, I needed to post, share, tag, and stay on people's pages! I did really well with the posting part, I didn't do so well with tagging people and staying on people's timelines.
The biggest trend was that if I tagged someone in a photo, not just a post, I received a plethora of likes and views on my page.

Self-Evaluation

Like I mentioned before, I really did enjoy the results of my page but I know how I could do it better if I ever decide to try again. The only thing that I would do differently is try to take pictures of groups of people and continue to tag them in it until I have reached a satisfactory popularity, then continue to do the small families and individual shots!







 

Facebook Ad

Friday, November 13, 2015

Sustainability between Amsterdam and Miami

I had to research Equitable Business for both cities.

Amsterdam has multiple opportunities for creating new business opportunities as well as being hired or investing in one of the current successful businesses. They list resources to finding people who will guide you through the steps of expansion as well as helping you get started.

http://www.iamsterdam.com/en/business

They’re using the colleges and universities to have the students do projects on finding new ways to build a better city inside and out.

http://www.colorlines.com/articles/want-equitable-economy-start-building-one-based-abundance

Miami has crazy business codes for anyone wanting to open a new business. It’s almost as if Miami makes entrepreneur’s intimidated from trying and opening new businesses and expanding. They’ve had multiple failures in expansion because the commerce won’t pass the permits.

http://yfsmagazine.com/2013/09/21/opening-a-business-in-miami-beach-florida/2/

I also came up with the app for change!! Here are the screen shots from the slideshow that we all put together.



Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Recognizing Automatic Attitudinal Responses

I need to form an opinion. After looking through all of my posts, I'm pretty wishy-washy about most of the subjects. On the one post that I actually did state a valid opinion, I didn't have any evidence or sources to back my opinion up. So pretty much I live in my own world, only care about the things I decide to care about, and don't really care much about what other people think.

On the one post I did state my opinion, looking back at it now, it came from my past! It came from a huge argument we got into in one of my classes when I was a freshman and I have never revisited the thought until that post. I've grown up a bit now, and realized, I really don't care if my kids stand up in school and say the pledge of allegiance every Monday morning, I just care that people respect this country and the people fighting for it.

As I continue to skim through my posts, I continually find controversy in all of my opinions. I know what I'm talking about, it all makes sense in my head, but what I'm not understanding is that not everyone reading my posts has had all the same life experiences as me. They didn't learn a lot of the things I did the hard way, they were probably smart and just didn't do what they knew was bad for them, or knew a scene looked like trouble and didn't spend time on it. I need to do a better job of writing to a blank canvas like audience instead of one I've painted myself.

I also base my opinion off of whatever the hosts are saying. I usually state whether I agree with them or not, followed by a short description of why. Unfortunately I don't have an opinion that I've formed on my own by doing my own research of primary sources and such, I listen to everyone else's opinion and then make my opinion. That's awful. Makes me feel terrible about my opinions ha!

Thursday, October 22, 2015

On the Media: Playboy Covers Up

Physical: No more full frontal nudes from Playboy, at least not for now! Hefner looked at the website they've revamped and found that it was viewed more without the nudes, so he's going to allow the people viewing Playboy to use their imagination a little more.

Psychological: As Hefner discovered in the 1950's, people like sex. I really enjoyed what Dian Hanson stated when talking about sex. "I see it the same way they describe a good marriage. In a good marriage sex is only 20% of the equation, and yet if you take that 20% out of the marriage, the marriage is dead. People really don't buy Playboy as a masturbatory agent. But that 20% nudity is what made it Playboy, in the minds of people. If you take that out, it's a different entity and I don't see how it can survive." Sex is going to sell. Any country, any place, anytime, there will be people drawn to sex. I do think it will survive, simply because when it isn't doing as well as planned, they're going to switch back real quick.

Cultural: "Sexy pictures are not passé, what is passé is men paying for them." - Dian Hanson. Like Brooke mentioned, maybe this will make it to other countries where porn wasn't allowed, thus increasing it's sales, possibly. On the other hand, the other countries may just make up for the loss of audience after the loss of nudity. Maybe if the people in the US wasn't so shy of the sexuality of other people, Playboy wouldn't be such a big deal here.

Social: Personally, if this change is going to make a big difference in Playboy's sales, they're going to go right back to it, obviously. But right now, according to Hugh Hefner, it's all a fantasy and is supposed to get the viewers dreaming. I think that social media brought this upon themselves. There's not much more to it besides, if you're viewing it, you're supporting it, no matter what your intention is before you click on the picture or ad, or visit the website.

Temporal: You don't need Playboy if you want to see naked women or men. I'm sure there are plenty of sites where you can see more action on with naked men and women than you do in a magazine. So the audience directed towards that may in fact just move on, I mean technically it's all pretty much the same thing, just different 'fantasies'.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Climate Change 1.0

I've been hearing about this climate change for years now, it's never not been an issue. The first thing I saw while researching the current climate issues is that each year has increased by a total average temperature of 1.7 degrees overall. My first thought was well that's not even that bad, St George gets to 120 during the summer all the time and we still survive.
So, what's really the deal with it? If I were to just search social media, I would assume 'climate change' is simply the earth getting warmer. Digging deeper (into NASA's website), I actually discovered that it's not just the earth getting warmer. It's all the pollutants in the air that we as humans aren't caring about. Obama put in this type of save the earth plan and is actually finally seeing some really good results. Our amount of carbon dioxide in the air is the lowest it's been since 1998, and he is making solar panels more affordable for middle class and low income families by making the power companies they go through switch to solar panels, brilliant. Thus, making their power bills cheaper, and in the long run making the earth a little cleaner. So there are good things happening, but social media continues just to say it's the earth getting warmer, and never exactly states what exactly is contributing to it.

If you'd like to read more about Obama's plan to Fight Climate Change, I've provided the link to where I got all of my information below.

https://www.whitehouse.gov/climate-change

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Religion 3.0

Well, if you've ever been or lived in Utah, then no doubt about it, you know what religion is. Whether you know the biased opinion of religion, or you've formed your own belief about it, (which I would prefer), you know the basic idea of it. But why is it that Utah, and many of the active LDS members make such big deal about it? Why does it come as a surprise to them and almost offend them if you don't know their background and ask a simple question? Sorry to get your hopes up, I don't have the answer either, but it does bother me as well. I don't want to talk about the LDS religion because I am forced to enough already, but I do want to say, there are some good Mormons out there that practice their religion without making other people feel like they're bad people if they don't join. Anyway! Off of the LDS topic and back to the general topic of Religion. What defines it? A belief in God? A belief in the Bible? What is it? Personally, I think that's up to us to decide. If we want to consider our practices religions, so be it. There only becomes an issue when your religion practicing conflicts with someone else's rights or the law in general. Our Godfathers, the men who established our country made it a point in the constitution to make a direct correlation towards God. So we base our country off of God, and then decide to abandoned our speech towards our country because it has the word God in it...cool. What the crap is wrong with people? It's not like our teachers were forcing us to stand and say the speech, but it was a great tribute to our country and the people who fought for it. As you can tell, I'm slightly offended by the removal of this, but I understand why they got rid of it, however I still get frustrated with the subject.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Darkode Radiolab

Physical: Super smart people are taking advantage of the not so smart people and making them pay for not being as smart as them. Also known as geeks hacking into your technology and then making you pay for not being smart enough to out hack them. Hackers are brilliant minded jerks. They manipulate people that aren't smarter than them and pretty much force them to pay the consequences of not being smart enough. 


Psychological: The crappy part is, you can't really do anything about it, except out smart them. Which in this case, seems pretty darn hard to do! Your best bet is to hopefully have a connection with someone who works for the geek squad at Best Buy and can out-hack the hacker! It's annoying and I wish there was a better solution I could come up with to stop it, but the best thing I have is use our technology wisely. Make sure that we're using a virus protector if we can, and our private browsing modes when surfing the internet.


Cultural: Unfortunately for Americans, we don't have the smartest kids come out of our public schooling systems like other countries. So I will admit that I think we're a little more vulnerable as a whole, but almost every stabilized country has access to the internet nowadays, which immediately put them at risk of being hacked. Just like the lady said, when she figured out her computer was hacked, she automatically assumed it was the Russians, they're brilliant. Just like the old saying "you gotta do what you gotta do." If that's the trade they learned to make a living, I guess they're putting it to good use, but sucks for the victims. Educate ourselves. That's all we really can do. We have to understand that any time we turn our piece of technology on, we're putting ourselves at risk of being hacked, or getting some crazy virus. It's pretty unfortunate that we even have to take these types of precautions, but if we want to keep ourselves protected, we have no choice but to take every precaution or we might serve the consequence. So use our incognito mode, obtain a blind email, and keep our location services off!


Social: The problem is the hackers. They're not going to stop, they aren't afraid of getting caught because they're to smart for that. Instead, they're going to threaten us and manipulate us to the point that we feel like we have to obey their orders or we're going to get the down fall of it! 

Temporal: Educate ourselves. That's all we really can do. We have to understand that any time we turn our piece of technology on, we're putting ourselves at risk of being hacked, or getting some crazy virus. It's pretty unfortunate that we even have to take these types of precautions, but if we want to keep ourselves protected, we have no choice but to take every precaution or we might serve the consequence. So use our incognito mode, obtain a blind email, and keep our location services off!

Monday, October 5, 2015

Privacy 2.0

While watching the video, I was angry. I mean who wouldn't be? Our own President is looking our country in the face and lying to us through his teeth. Snowden had good intentions. I will admit that I'm not quite sure he went about it in the right way, but what other choice did he have? Obviously going to authority gets your fired for not following the chain of command, so he had no choice if he wanted America to know the truth.

The extent to which the US went to in order to keep us safe is unreal. I understand where they're coming from, but why are they not showing America that what they're doing is working? Why the heck are they not proving that they are stopping terrorist attacks by monitoring our every move? In some people's eyes, they would still no be okay with being monitored 24/7 but at least the government has evidence to back up their actions.

Snowden. I don't believe he was a trader. I think his ethical and moral values got the best of him and he saw what happened to his coworkers that tried to step forward. To the best of his knowledge, he did what he needed to in order to let the public know the truth. We have no privacy. Not if we use technology! I knew that when I signed up for my social media sites and email accounts. You give them all this information about you when you sign up, pretty much handing over your privacy. If people want to be private, they don't use the internet for one, and for two, it requires them to do everything in person. Exactly like how Snowden reached out.

With all the continued advances in technology, it's impossible to be private, and the government is simply taking advantage of that. Is it ethical? No. Do I think they're really catching the bad guys? Not really. I mean how many mass shootings have happened in the last 5 years? All in all, we can't change what they're doing, we can only make ourselves aware of it and proceed through life accordingly.

Thursday, October 1, 2015

On the Media: The Pope Is Not a Politician

Physical: 

The Pope Francis visited our country this week. Kind of cool seeing how he has only visited a 3 different continents, including our own.

Social:

The Pope is being characterized as a politician. Why? Who the crap knows. People are comparing the Pope and Trump, putting him on a side for voting, and giving him approval ratings. Multiple politicians are commenting about his visit and his beliefs and trying to back their own statements up by putting the Pope's beliefs down.
I cannot believe that people are making such a big deal about what the Pope stated while he was here. He was simply here to share his belief, not to promote politics. He came to talk about what he thinks is ethical and right in his eyes, not to tell people what they should do or who they should vote for.

Psychological:

So the Pope came. Awesome. But as the Americans we have become today....instead of listening to his teachings and trying to keep an open-eye towards his beliefs, we are taking his visit offensively. Like Bob mentions, The Atlantic newspaper states "the pope doesn't care", and we aren't realizing it, and well, obviously the politicians aren't either. 
Instead we've decided to spread rumors about what side the Pope is really on, Republican or Democrat, Hero or Villain (like Bob says). Which is absolutely ridiculous! If the Pope would've visited our country 50 years ago, he would've got a standing ovation and the people of America would've been writing in the newspapers about how the Pope has changed the lives of many Americans.

Culture:

Unfortunately we live in a generation where, when someone states an opinion or belief, they must be placed in a political category afterwards. Like Bob mentions, "For God's sake it's not always about you." We have become so selfish with ourselves and we say things without even thinking. Or maybe we are thinking and we're really just that close-minded, ugh. 

There are a lot of things we could do to change this, but the first thing is starting with ourselves. We have to begin with our own voice before we're going to change anybody else's.

Temporal Context:

People are taking his words out of context and putting them into a politicians mouth and looking at it from that point of view. Aka, the Pope is either telling the truth or he's lying. I love that he took the time out of his busy schedule to come and visit and speak about the things that matter to him, but I'm embarrassed at what we are doing to his visit. He doesn't sit at home and watch the polls, he doesn't care what we think about him (and he shouldn't), so why do we care so much about whether or not his beliefs are the same as ours?
I've come to the conclusion that, there are some people out there who only care about themselves and will say anything to make sure people like them. I've kind of always known this, but it's hard to put into words without sounding like a total jerk. 

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Democracy 2.0

I decided to go see what exactly democracy means according to our government. I found this interesting piece of work. Above these bullet points was a statement implying that these are the goals of the United States and choosing democracy.



  • Promote democracy as a means to achieve security, stability, and prosperity for the entire world;
  • Assist newly formed democracies in implementing democratic principles;
  • Assist democracy advocates around the world to establish vibrant democracies in their own countries; and
  • Identify and denounce regimes that deny their citizens the right to choose their leaders in elections that are free, fair, and transparent.

  • Isn't that interesting? Tell me you chuckled, even if it was just a little. Tell me when in the past 4-5 years that even one of these bullet points have been input into our way of living. How many voting Americans, that practice their right to vote, feel secure and stable in our country? What about the amount of democratic principles have ever been implemented into our society? I will say that, a lot of countries have converted over to democracy, but in most of those countries, it truly is the people who vote the person that runs their country.


    The last bullet is the best. Our voting rights should be fair right? How is allowing these politicians to bribe the country with promises they can't keep, deals they make but can't back up, all to win a vote, fair? I know nothing in life is fair, but our country could at least do a little bit of work to make sure the people running for President actually have a plan to implement the bargains they're making. If they're going to talk about doing it, why can't they discuss they're plan for it? Obama did a decent job of this throughout his campaign, there were just a lot of holes. 

    Democracy? What democracy? We get to decide things? HA! Funny. One of my biggest issues with our current situation is not everyone gets to decide who is elected. Only those voices of people with some credit to their name make a difference, aka the electoral college. They receive all the ballots and then cast their vote. So depending on who is on the electoral college, and where exactly you're from, that's the way the votes are going to sway. They (hopefully) are listening to what each person running for President has to say, and basing their votes off of what they think will be best for the country. Problem...how many of these people speak the truth and actually stick to what they say they're going to do?


    Personally, I think the democracy type is a great idea, but our country is falling apart. If democracy is what's making us be a split-nation, we need to figure out which President is going to try to bring us back together as one, rather than trying to convince people to go against each other.

    Thursday, September 24, 2015

    On the Media: Debunking Migration Memes

    Because I wrote on the Europe refugees earlier, I decided to continue my thoughts. :)

    Physical:

    Refugee issues going on in Europe. Involving the people of Isis trying to escape and the border police of England. Discussing the Memes (pictures with a short text on them) becoming more and more popular.

    Psychological:

    To the people out there making the memes about this topic...you disgust me. I cannot believe people would set aside time out of their day just to make a picture that is so sensitive and rude towards the refugees. It's definitely not just one person making all of these, because there are hundreds of memes being made about the Isis situation and it still blows my mind. Rather than spreading positive memes around about how to help these refugees, they've decided it'd be way more entertaining to make fun of them.

    Not to mention, half of the pictures are fake, and the other half are completely taken the wrong way. Bob does a really good job at explaining this and saying that the people that are actually coming up with the memes obviously come across the image are 'confirming the person's worst fears/prejudices' OR there are people out there that are seriously looking out there just to spread their hate about the subject. Which is SO true.

    In Kleinfeld's words, the people that are coming up with these are so cynical. The people who share them are no different.Unfortunately these memes also have another side to them. They've put fear into the people of England and are scaring them into thinking that there are imposter refugees that are coming over on the same boats as the refugees and could in fact invade the homes of the people trying to help.

    Social:

    Granted, the people of have probably never been a situation as they are in today, and the rest of the world is asking a lot of them, I totally understand. I know that if I was stuck in their shoes, I would be little sketched out bringing a random family into my household too! So if the people that aren't okay with the idea, they find it okay to make fun of the families and people in need? NOT AT ALL.

    The best thing they can do at this point is put their best foot forward and go with their instincts. Seriously though, the border police can do the best they can the pick out the imposters, but the people who are taking refugees in, need not to be naive to the situation either.

    Now reverse the roles. Imagine putting yourself in the refugees shoes? AH! I truly try to see things from other people's point of view, and I try to understand, but what exactly have the refugees done wrong? Ran from murders? Ran from the people trying to tear their families apart and forcing them into these crazy armies? How is that wrong? No they don't have a green card, but would you seriously turn away someone who just went through hell trying to get away from the Islamic army? I'm almost positive you could tell a difference between someone who has been in a horrible situation vs someone who still has loads of muscle on their bodies or seems well fed.

    Culture:

    England is trying to take on a big role right now. It's not all going to happen at once, and it might not even happen at all, BUT! If the people of England aren't going to agree to help the people of Isis and it's surrounding areas out, someone else, with more power, is probably going to start breaking some ties with them. As if helping save the lives of the innocent people wasn't enough, I'm not sure losing some allies will matter either.

    Is there more that England can do to protect their own citizens? Yes of course! The border patrol is obviously doing what they can, but why don't they set up a refugee camp and slowly leak out the ones who have shown they are safe enough to be in a resident's home? It just takes a little time and effort from the natives of England and a little heart with some volunteer service.

    Temporal Context:

    So what's social media doing with it? All the wrong things, that's for damn sure. They're liking, commenting, sharing and spreading these crazy, fake meme's and it's driving me insane! I can't believe the nerve of some of these people! Props to the people who are just scrolling past them and not giving the post the time of day, but how are they going to stop them? Unfortunately, I don't think they can. :( They've shared them out of fear and have completely lost hope in their own country at that point and I just hope sharing that mean (and probably fake) post made them feel a bit more safe when they go to sleep at night.

    It breaks my heart to know that if something like that ever happened to me, and I was in the refugee's shoes, I would feel hopeless. When you've lost hope, it's really hard to live much longer.

    Tuesday, September 22, 2015

    Learning 2.0

    This is a topic I myself am worried for future with my children and what they are going to go through! You can never be over-educated, no matter what people say. Cheers to the older people that sit next to me in my college classes trying to better themselves!

    After doing a bit of research, not to my surprise, the US ranks 22nd out of the 27 established countries for graduation rates. It used to be ranked one of the highest and each year we fall more and more short of that. But why? Why do we continue to see a consistent decline in our education system year after year after year? Is it the students fault? Teachers? Or parents?

    Starting with the teachers, who go get their college degrees to teach these students, but then barely get paid enough to pay off their student loans before they die, are they to blame? The teachers in our education system have to love their jobs. If they didn't love their job, they would've easily went back to school or attended more school and increases their chances of opportunity to find a different job. Unfortunately our education system is suffering because more and more teachers are finding better jobs that they can actually live off of, and the high school system is stuck with the student teachers that are still in school, or the older teachers that don't feel like they have the time to go back to school. So whats the solution here? The obvious, pay our teachers more! Everyone wants to complain, but then when their students get to school and the parents are doing their homework, they might reconsider. 

    Students that drop out tend to earn minimum wage until they've received their GED. Weird right? Ha! In order to succeed in this society today, you have to educate yourself. Does that require you to get yourself in debt by attending college for 6 years because you can't pick a major? Not at all. Go learn a trade! If you want to be successful, you have to have something to give to the world in order to receive something in return. Whether it's photography, mechanic, construction, all the above, any one of those, you practice enough and get really good at your trade, you will succeed.

    PARENTS! As you can tell, I obviously like to blame the parents the most for the amount of high school dropouts. It's their job to teach their children from a young age the importance of education. If they don't, they can't be mad when their 57yr old son is still living in their basement. If parents took the time to help student's with their homework, at any age, and show them that they care about their education just as much as the student's should, I believe the students would start to believe in themselves and WANT to better their education. 

    Not every child has parents, or people to look up to, etc. and I don't have an answer in that case. I work with children in this situation everyday and the only people they have are the staff members like me that are forcing them to go sit in a classroom Monday-Friday. Whether or not they do their work is their choice, but as a staff member I continuously try to give them hope for themselves because nobody has ever instilled that in their lives before. 

    Education is important. If every parent instilled this belief at a young age, I would be interested to see the number of dropouts then. I know as a parent education is one of the top things on my list of priorities to teach my children!

    Wednesday, September 16, 2015

    On the Media: "Museumification" of 9/11

    Physical:

    This museum is located in the exact spot where the twin towers used to stand in New York City, New York.

    Psychological:

    Brooke narrates you through the 9/11 museum and all the emotions she feels as walking through the museum herself. She does a really good job changing her voice when she is talking about the lives that were taken and the stories they left behind. The pauses shes uses really allows the listener to picture the museum in their head and have the thoughts and feelings they would as if they were physically in the museum themselves. 

    Social:

    Brooke is playing a tourist. She does an amazing job at narrating her way through the museum, like I mentioned before, and allows the listener to feel as if they were walking through the museum right there with her. She also gives the listener a small audio of the actual recordings from the day 9/11 actually went down. This was one of the most heartbreaking moments, it literally takes you back to the day it happened and puts you in the shoes of the people that were actually there and physically/emotionally affected by it. 

    Brooke wanted the listeners to feel her experience of going through the museum now vs. what it's going to be like in the future. Like she mentioned, though people were solemn, she only noticed a few tears. Years from now it's going to be another generation that's walking through it, and it's just going to be more "U.S. History" to them, or like Brooke said, "another catastrophe." That was our catastrophe. That happened to us, and it will forever change the lives of those who were living during the time it happened. 

    Culture:

    Brooke stops and talks to another visitor about her feelings of having her cousin's name and story be in a museum, meaning forever and ever. The visitor expresses that it actually 'brings it more to home.' That she had family that worked there, and almost seemed honored. 

    The emotions there I'm sure are overwhelming. I'm praying that one day I have the opportunity to visit this memorial and experience it for myself, but for now, I can only relate my feelings to the ones I had while visiting the Pearl Harbor memorial. 

    The Pearl Harbor memorial was so well put together and includes so much detail, I, myself truly felt like I was apart of it as I read through each of the stories. I also remember seeing all the Japanese people there and without even knowing them personally, I couldn't help but judge them. It was terrible. I remember thinking "what the heck are you even doing here. You're the ones who did this to us." Such a terrible, judgmental thought, I know, but I couldn't help myself. Later that day as I was talking with some girls about a teammate who was actually Japanese and I had completely forgotten until later, we started to wonder what her thoughts were about it. She was already quiet as it is, so none of us dared ask her, but to this day, I'm still curious, what do they attend this memorial for? I don't personally feel like the museum was made for them to come remember all the lives they took when they bombed us, and how it effected our country as a whole, so what are they doing there? Are there Afghans that visit the trade center memorial? Maybe one day I'll get the courage to ask, but not today.

    Temporal Context:

    Fortunately people are taking well to the museum, giving it the attention it deserves and keeping in mind the history and emotions it reserves. Social Media I think does a good job representing it's history and importance as well. Of course, in later years, who knows what people will be saying about it, who will be visiting it, or what social media will do with it, but only time will tell!

    Thursday, September 10, 2015

    On the Media: The Photo of Aylan Kurdi

    Physical:

    A photo of a toddler from Syrian who drowned and was washed up in Turkey.

    Psychological:


    How is this photo affecting us? Personally, how is it affecting you? Brooke did a great job describing in detail the effects it should have on our nation, and us as a society. Like Brooke mentions "it forces us to see what we already know." In other words, it's addressing the elephant in the room that we need to make a change. I know anytime I see any child in any sort of pain or pictured in a traumatic experience, it hits me. Hard. It makes me want to do something about it, and I have opportunities that arise to do so, I rise to the occasion. We all need to have the mindset of arising to the occasion to help. To get out of our comfort zone and create opportunities to better our country.

    Social:


    Many people are angry. Very angry that the first thing they saw this morning in the newspaper was a photograph of a toddler who had drowned due to his boat being capsized. This family was running from their country because the fear of continuing to live their surpassed the fear of death at sea. So why are people mad? Because, like Brooke mentioned it's forcing people to see what a cruel and evil society we're living in! There are so many more countries that could involve themselves in taking out the leaders that are killing innocent people in Isis. So I say be angry. Be pissed off that your country  isn't doing anything to help the innocent children and families escape from being shot to death in their sleep, or being forced into the army themselves.

    Culture:


    So what is Isis saying about it? I had to do some more research on the issue, but apparently Isis is claiming those who are trying to escape will "find refuge in Hell." Them trying to escape is against the Islamic religion because the parents are killing off their children. 


    AH! This makes me so angry! How are there people that even say things like this still alive?! Honestly, how is it not okay to try to protect your family by escaping the country and people that threaten them a sin? In what right mind would anyone see this as a bad choice. It's frustrating to me to see that there are minimal people taking action, when there are so many things that the countries near Isis can do to help.

    I'm sad that this tragedy had to happen to this family, because I know they had good intentions and the parents were doing the best they could with what they had. I don't even have to know the parents personally to know that, I don't have to know their class, religion, or even what type of parenting skills they had to know that them escaping Isis was all under good intentions for their entire family.

    Temporal Context:


    Social media has the option to take this story up or down. Unfortunately the majority of the UK, (where it was mostly published on the front page of major newspapers) are upset and angry at the press for doing that. When really, they should actually read what the articles are saying and try to help! A lot of the articles I read were mentioning how taking in refugees isn't a long-term solution, but will help build trust. 

    I really wish there was something more me, personally could physically do to help families trying to escape the torture of the Army in Isis. Unfortunately all I can do is spread positive stories and hope that someone who has the opportunity to help hears me out and will help those in need.

    **One of the biases I found that definitely had an impact on me was the music they chose to play while Brooke was narrating the story! It was sad and depressing and reminded me of the Sarah McLachlan Animal Cruelty commercial that everyone also has a problem with. Why do people get so defensive when someone brings out the empathy in them? Let me know if you ever find a legit answer to that!

    Wednesday, September 9, 2015

    HD Photography!

    I chose to do a page on my own photography skills. Prayers of all kinds are appreciated.






    https://www.facebook.com/haileighdawnphotography

    I'm a newer photographer, but I want to get things rolling! Hoping this page will help me out! Target Audience, would be families, couples, and people who just want pictures of them doing cool things! I guess you could say adventure-ers :) If it's high-school students, awesome. College students, great. Anyone who wants to document themselves living life to the fullest, I hope I am the one they choose to capture the moment!


    I plan to promote my page through Facebook and Instagram. I know a lot of people my age are getting married, or are already married and having kids! I would love to get into the portrait photography! On the side I would also love to volunteer to take pictures of people doing awesomeness. People who are high on life with smiles on their faces doing whatever it is that they love doing!



    My action plan is to post every week about times I can actually go out and take free pictures and hopefully get some volunteers! I mean who doesn't want selfies? I know that the more exciting things I post, the bigger my audience will get and how much more popular it will become! Especially because the majority of my friends are my age, if I post things that are exciting, adventurous, and cool, people will be intrigued and hopefully invite me to take sweet pictures of them doing awesome things too. :)

    Tuesday, September 8, 2015

    Well Informed 2.0...Racism 2.0

    My Experience with Racism

    So we live in a world of racism. Some people are still horribly racist, yes. But does that mean every time something doesn't go your way or every time you run into a problem, you have the right to blame it on your skin color?

    This is one of the biggest issues I've been dealing with since moving to Southern Utah. I'm by no means saying that every single person with a different skin color blames their problems on everyone else's skin color, but there are a number of people who do and it really gets on my nerves. Just a few stories for example:

    Dixie State Athletes

    Waitress not Receiving a Tip

    Police Falsely Accused for Being Racist


    One I've experienced and went through an entire year and a half of dealing with, and the other stories are ones that I came across online. I'm still amazed and how low people go to get their way, and on the same page, how low people swoop just to offend someone of any race. Yes racism is real and still alive today, but to some extent, there are people that choose to use that card to solve their own issues. 

    SO many times does a news story come up and whether it's a white person that was shot and killed or a black person that was shot and killed, someone that complains that they didn't show the story of the other person who died too that day. It's inevitable! 


    Conclusion:

    I was on the basketball team with a black coach, a white coach, and a variety of ethnicity as teammates. A few teammates made bad choices, didn't follow the NCAA rules and were caught disobeying them, not to mention their crappy attitude towards long practices and road trips, and those teammates were not asked to come back the following year. That summer one of the girls filed a lawsuit against the coach and her father and claimed the coach was being racist against her own race. Multiple false allegations against the coach were made, and many of them dismissed because they were untrue. This player chose to drink, chose to do drugs, and chose to not participate in practices, now tell me what coach wouldn't kick that player off at any given moment?

    Not every person with a different skin color is this way, but there is a handful in each ethnicity, including white people! There are so many people out there that will pull any card, and do anything to get their way in life. Well, you know what? If you want to give up your integrity to ruin someone else's life with a false allegation or blasting them on social media about untrue things, then that's up to you. But I intend to hold onto my integrity and values a little longer thank you.

    Wednesday, September 2, 2015

    On the Media: The Little Pink Pill

    Physical:

    The little pink pill, flibanserin, can be prescribed for "anyone". This pill was just sold for a billion dollars, meaning that this pill is set out to be given to any women who feels the need to be sexually satisfied. 


    Psychological:


    Wait seriously? I mean I understand that I live in Utah and there aren't a lot of people that drink alcohol here, but with the statistic of 60% of the testers that used the pill being social drinkers, have they thought about the long term effects? Not to mention, listen closely about the placebo! Women who took the 'placebo' pill, vs. women who took flibanserin, there was only a .8% difference. So is .8% really worth it? Brooke brought up a good point about libido vs. boredom and the placebo test results displayed this information perfectly. There is a significant decrease in sexual activity after a few years of the relationship, but is it really because of a psychological problem that this pill is supposed to fix, or are we as women just getting bored of the same ol' stuff with our partner? I guess that's for each woman to decide for herself.


    Social:


    The role of the prescribed drug is easy: getting women to be sexually aroused. The audience for this drug: women who need to get more out of their sex lives. Yes this pill has had a lot of testing done, but like I mentioned before, the test results weren't all that great. So the pill helped 50-60% of women be sexually satisfied, but going back to the placebo test...is that percentage really all that accurate? Not in my opinion.


    Culture:


    Women who struggle with becoming sexually aroused are pumped, why wouldn't they be?! It's like Brooke mentioned, it's Viagra for women! It also comes with all the same crazy side effects of Viagra comes with except they get worse if you drink alcohol, ha! Sounds heavenly right?

    Feminists, now they are not to be messed with about this subject. They obviously have a very strong opinion and don't seem to be changing it anytime soon. They think it's a drug to make women feel bad about themselves, but in the skewed survey, it mentioned that 43% of women struggle becoming aroused. So maybe some women honestly do have a psychological problem with their libido, but like Brooke mentioned, I'm still leaning towards the boredom in bed.

    Temporal Context:


    Just for fun I checked out the current comments on the blog and my first comment towards them in my head was 'did you even listen to the same talk show I just did?' Some of their comments made absolutely no sense, or they were making false claims about the side effects, taking the entire pill controversy personal. This is where all the drama on social media starts :) People don't listen to the factual statements, they only hear what they want to hear so they can post their negative opinions about it and get someone to argue with them. Annoying.


    Regardless, the majority of women are excited about it, as well as the men are too, not to be sexist but what man wouldn't be? Heck, they can both take their little pills together and probably have a fabulous night until the side effects come along! 


    My opinion is test it out, see where it goes, but my guess is that the majority of the women taking it will struggle because it's a daily pill and you can't drink alcohol while taking it. So they'll probably get bored with that and move on to the next thing to complain about. If it works for them, great! I'm happy someone smart invented something that's going to help improve their relationships and make them happier people! :) 


    http://www.onthemedia.org/story/little-pink-pill/?utm_source=local&utm_medium=treatment&utm_campaign=daMost&utm_content=damostviewed