Monday, December 14, 2015

Who Does the Internet Think I Am?

Well for starters, they probably think that I am an indecisive freak who doesn't know how to speak the English language. I say this because I am constantly finding something I love, such as my most recent, new bedding, and I'll search it for days, put it in a shopping cart, where it's usually deleted to refrain from buyer's remorse, and then I move onto something new a few weeks later. As for the english language situation goes, I have a really weird inner conscious that won't allow me to continue reading, or a texting conversation if I come across a word I don't know the definition to. So my search engine is full of a bunch of random words followed by the word "definition".

The next thing the internet would guess about me, is that I am obsessed with snowboarding because I am constantly checking liftopia for the cheapest lift passes available. It's not that I am obsessed with snowboarding, but more that I am a cheap skate and hate paying to ride my board down a mountain!

My Facebook on the other hand, well it probably thinks that I am a kid obsessed, photography freak, that also has major relationship problems. Which makes me sound like a weirdo, I kind of am. I love little kids and anytime one of my friends posts a picture of their kids, I am always sure to like it! So Facebook also probably thinks that I'm a mom and I always see mom ads down the side of my navigation bar. Of course I'm always looking for better ways to become a photographer, so I follow a plethora of photography pages that offer tips and tricks on every type of photography. Lastly, I love the idea of love. I love the idea of being so happy with someone that you would literally do anything for them, and the idea itself consumes me. I have a very sensitive side to broken hearts because I'd like to think I know how they're feeling, based on my readings, not my own relationships, I don't have time for that!

Basically the internet thinks I'm a freak. I'm okay with it! I'm okay with all the things I'm obsessed with and constantly searching for, I'm okay with my friends thinking that I am a pedophile because I like and comment on all their children's pictures, and I enjoy the cheap tickets I find when searching for a good time! The internet doesn't need to know the real me, it's not a real person, it doesn't deserve to know the grace of my presence. :)

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Facebook Campaign

I chose to start my own photography page for my campaign. It was much more successful than I had expected!

I always like ending on a good note, so I'll start with the bad news first.

What didn't work

- Posting a status on the page without any further attention. If I didn't share it on my personal page, tag someone in it, or add a photo, I was lucky to even get a single like! The only reason it didn't work, I'm assuming is because I don't have very many likes on my page!

- Not tagging anyone in my photo. Even when I shared it on my personal page, the photo didn't get half as much attention as other photos when I had tagged someone in the post or the photo. It never worked as well as the ones I did tag because not as many people saw the post.

What did work

- Obviously the opposite of what didn't work. Tagging people! Adding other people's names to my posts and pictures allowed it to appear on their timeline for all of their friends to view. 

- Inviting all of my friends to like my page actually made them like my page! I mean I invited over 100 and received about 20 likes but, still made a difference!

- The more people I took pictures of, the more people I could tag! That means more timelines it would show up on. The crazy thing is that the Dixie State Dance Team's Pictures I didn't tag anyone in because I wasn't friends with any of them. Yet this post was seen by the most amount of people. The only reason I can think of is that when people started to like the photo (because who wouldn't like a picture of a bunch of beautiful women) it started to pop up on a lot of people's timelines and continued to be viewed by more and more people.

Campaign Plan

After analyzing my plan, I decided I didn't know much about how to be successful on social media. My plan basically stated that I needed to post a few times a week, when in reality, I needed to post, share, tag, and stay on people's pages! I did really well with the posting part, I didn't do so well with tagging people and staying on people's timelines.
The biggest trend was that if I tagged someone in a photo, not just a post, I received a plethora of likes and views on my page.

Self-Evaluation

Like I mentioned before, I really did enjoy the results of my page but I know how I could do it better if I ever decide to try again. The only thing that I would do differently is try to take pictures of groups of people and continue to tag them in it until I have reached a satisfactory popularity, then continue to do the small families and individual shots!







 

Facebook Ad

Friday, November 13, 2015

Sustainability between Amsterdam and Miami

I had to research Equitable Business for both cities.

Amsterdam has multiple opportunities for creating new business opportunities as well as being hired or investing in one of the current successful businesses. They list resources to finding people who will guide you through the steps of expansion as well as helping you get started.

http://www.iamsterdam.com/en/business

They’re using the colleges and universities to have the students do projects on finding new ways to build a better city inside and out.

http://www.colorlines.com/articles/want-equitable-economy-start-building-one-based-abundance

Miami has crazy business codes for anyone wanting to open a new business. It’s almost as if Miami makes entrepreneur’s intimidated from trying and opening new businesses and expanding. They’ve had multiple failures in expansion because the commerce won’t pass the permits.

http://yfsmagazine.com/2013/09/21/opening-a-business-in-miami-beach-florida/2/

I also came up with the app for change!! Here are the screen shots from the slideshow that we all put together.



Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Recognizing Automatic Attitudinal Responses

I need to form an opinion. After looking through all of my posts, I'm pretty wishy-washy about most of the subjects. On the one post that I actually did state a valid opinion, I didn't have any evidence or sources to back my opinion up. So pretty much I live in my own world, only care about the things I decide to care about, and don't really care much about what other people think.

On the one post I did state my opinion, looking back at it now, it came from my past! It came from a huge argument we got into in one of my classes when I was a freshman and I have never revisited the thought until that post. I've grown up a bit now, and realized, I really don't care if my kids stand up in school and say the pledge of allegiance every Monday morning, I just care that people respect this country and the people fighting for it.

As I continue to skim through my posts, I continually find controversy in all of my opinions. I know what I'm talking about, it all makes sense in my head, but what I'm not understanding is that not everyone reading my posts has had all the same life experiences as me. They didn't learn a lot of the things I did the hard way, they were probably smart and just didn't do what they knew was bad for them, or knew a scene looked like trouble and didn't spend time on it. I need to do a better job of writing to a blank canvas like audience instead of one I've painted myself.

I also base my opinion off of whatever the hosts are saying. I usually state whether I agree with them or not, followed by a short description of why. Unfortunately I don't have an opinion that I've formed on my own by doing my own research of primary sources and such, I listen to everyone else's opinion and then make my opinion. That's awful. Makes me feel terrible about my opinions ha!

Thursday, October 22, 2015

On the Media: Playboy Covers Up

Physical: No more full frontal nudes from Playboy, at least not for now! Hefner looked at the website they've revamped and found that it was viewed more without the nudes, so he's going to allow the people viewing Playboy to use their imagination a little more.

Psychological: As Hefner discovered in the 1950's, people like sex. I really enjoyed what Dian Hanson stated when talking about sex. "I see it the same way they describe a good marriage. In a good marriage sex is only 20% of the equation, and yet if you take that 20% out of the marriage, the marriage is dead. People really don't buy Playboy as a masturbatory agent. But that 20% nudity is what made it Playboy, in the minds of people. If you take that out, it's a different entity and I don't see how it can survive." Sex is going to sell. Any country, any place, anytime, there will be people drawn to sex. I do think it will survive, simply because when it isn't doing as well as planned, they're going to switch back real quick.

Cultural: "Sexy pictures are not passé, what is passé is men paying for them." - Dian Hanson. Like Brooke mentioned, maybe this will make it to other countries where porn wasn't allowed, thus increasing it's sales, possibly. On the other hand, the other countries may just make up for the loss of audience after the loss of nudity. Maybe if the people in the US wasn't so shy of the sexuality of other people, Playboy wouldn't be such a big deal here.

Social: Personally, if this change is going to make a big difference in Playboy's sales, they're going to go right back to it, obviously. But right now, according to Hugh Hefner, it's all a fantasy and is supposed to get the viewers dreaming. I think that social media brought this upon themselves. There's not much more to it besides, if you're viewing it, you're supporting it, no matter what your intention is before you click on the picture or ad, or visit the website.

Temporal: You don't need Playboy if you want to see naked women or men. I'm sure there are plenty of sites where you can see more action on with naked men and women than you do in a magazine. So the audience directed towards that may in fact just move on, I mean technically it's all pretty much the same thing, just different 'fantasies'.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Climate Change 1.0

I've been hearing about this climate change for years now, it's never not been an issue. The first thing I saw while researching the current climate issues is that each year has increased by a total average temperature of 1.7 degrees overall. My first thought was well that's not even that bad, St George gets to 120 during the summer all the time and we still survive.
So, what's really the deal with it? If I were to just search social media, I would assume 'climate change' is simply the earth getting warmer. Digging deeper (into NASA's website), I actually discovered that it's not just the earth getting warmer. It's all the pollutants in the air that we as humans aren't caring about. Obama put in this type of save the earth plan and is actually finally seeing some really good results. Our amount of carbon dioxide in the air is the lowest it's been since 1998, and he is making solar panels more affordable for middle class and low income families by making the power companies they go through switch to solar panels, brilliant. Thus, making their power bills cheaper, and in the long run making the earth a little cleaner. So there are good things happening, but social media continues just to say it's the earth getting warmer, and never exactly states what exactly is contributing to it.

If you'd like to read more about Obama's plan to Fight Climate Change, I've provided the link to where I got all of my information below.

https://www.whitehouse.gov/climate-change

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Religion 3.0

Well, if you've ever been or lived in Utah, then no doubt about it, you know what religion is. Whether you know the biased opinion of religion, or you've formed your own belief about it, (which I would prefer), you know the basic idea of it. But why is it that Utah, and many of the active LDS members make such big deal about it? Why does it come as a surprise to them and almost offend them if you don't know their background and ask a simple question? Sorry to get your hopes up, I don't have the answer either, but it does bother me as well. I don't want to talk about the LDS religion because I am forced to enough already, but I do want to say, there are some good Mormons out there that practice their religion without making other people feel like they're bad people if they don't join. Anyway! Off of the LDS topic and back to the general topic of Religion. What defines it? A belief in God? A belief in the Bible? What is it? Personally, I think that's up to us to decide. If we want to consider our practices religions, so be it. There only becomes an issue when your religion practicing conflicts with someone else's rights or the law in general. Our Godfathers, the men who established our country made it a point in the constitution to make a direct correlation towards God. So we base our country off of God, and then decide to abandoned our speech towards our country because it has the word God in it...cool. What the crap is wrong with people? It's not like our teachers were forcing us to stand and say the speech, but it was a great tribute to our country and the people who fought for it. As you can tell, I'm slightly offended by the removal of this, but I understand why they got rid of it, however I still get frustrated with the subject.